Banana & Hazelnuts Cake

I’m home today, well sort of, the Viking left this morning for a shopping spree with his best friend (went to fetch a new leaf bower bought on Ebay…3 hours and a half form here) (no don’t ask me, I gave up understanding guys a long time ago, and yes I think he just wanted a day off with his buddy, having lunch in a nice place, sipping wine, no kids fussing around); since the weather is great, and my goblins are playing calmly outside (!), I take advantage of my almost free time inventing new recipes.

My aim: bake a nice cake! Don’t tell me cakes with no eggs and butter are the same! It’s not true. I’ve to find a way to bake something really tasty and old fashioned …

250 g all purpose flour
50 g minced hazelnuts
1 ripen banana
160 g cane sugar
1 pinch of salt
180 g melt margarin
Zest and juice of 1 lemon
1 glass of apple juice
2 teaspoons of baking powder

Pre heat oven (175 °).
Mix the banana with the apple juice and the cane sugar. Add the lemon juice and zest and then the salt and the melt margarin; keep on mixing till the batter is smooth. Add the hazelnuts, the flour and the baking powder. When the batter is really smooth and fluffy, spoon into a greased mould (I use wax paper). Place in the oven for 20 minutes.

It’s a bit too hot, but it smells like an almond cake and the outside crust is quite nice! I’ll take a new picture when it’s cold… 🙂

PS: Goblin number 2 loves it even hot…not bad! 

Leave a Reply

