Paint your vegan – or classism and vegans

vegan2

Last Saturday I stopped by a parisian vegan shop, the most famous one, probably the only real one in town. 
As I stepped in I felt billions of eyes pointed on me (I didn’t “look like” them) and heard plenty of different speeches, yes speeches, not sentences: from the little girl explaining her parents why she needed to buy sooooo many extra vitamins (the only supplement I take, and not even every day is B12, I already wrote about it), to the need to demonstrate on the 12th of October for the Paris vegan day, to the posh but vegan couple explaining why they refuse to have their parcels delivered to a place called “au bon chasseur” (the good hunter). 
I would love to know what is your point of view, because I am traveling into this amazing vegan world and I’m changing (for the best, I think) every single day but I’m far from being an extremist. I have leather clothes and I didn’t give them away. Of course I will avoid to buy leather/non-vegan item in the future – if I can –  but, replacing a wardrobe filled with non vegan items is expensive and not easy to do. So I chose to replace them as soon as I can, but it’s not a priority. Like items inside my house. 

Veganism can be expensive for some of us, organic healthy foods & products are still out of reach for many people but I think that every step towards a world where people do not eat meat and animals are fairly treated is welcome. Every effort is a good thing even if small. 

Some time ago I read these lines on an article by Stephanie Ernst:

“But I stand by my argument … that it’s acceptable to make this a process, that it isn’t necessary for — and shouldn’t be expected of — those without ample means to attempt to replace everything all at once or feel shame for not being able to. These issues of what and when to purchase and what, when, and how to discard are not black and white. Environmental impact matters. Sweatshop purchases matter. Individuals’ personal financial situations matter. And people matter.”

I agree with her.

What I don’t like is to feel judged, I’m working on being vegan, it’s a choice I don’t regret at all (I actually love it!) but I’ve never been a black or white kind of person, I’m more of a welcoming kind of gal, quite open minded.
The most important focus is to minimize the use of animal products in what I consume/buy directly in ways I can control. I do the best I can because actually, animal products are nearly everywhere…

What do you think? 

2 thoughts on “Paint your vegan – or classism and vegans

  1. quello che mi piace di te, è proprio che sei vegana senza essere integralista. che accetti che io faccia la frolla col burro e che mi scofani quintali di pecorino. perchè io vegetariana sì, ma vegana, decisamente, no. tutti i modi di vivere sono giusti, se ci si vive bene, senza far del male ad altri. ma, lo sai, credo che tutti gli “ismi” siano sbagliati. quindi, resta vegana e non integralista, che mi piaci così!

Leave a Reply

