Cocoa and Olive Oil Cake

There’s always room for a chocolate cake…
You’ll impress your friends with this so very easy and delicious chocolate cake. What I really like is that you don’t need any special ingredient and you can find all you need in your kitchen.
Options: add some dried cranberries to the batter, and give it a fancy party look with a vegan frosting on top.
20140227-132359.jpg

1 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp crunched flax seeds
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup unsweetened organic cocoa powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup water
1/2 cup mild olive oil
1 tsp apple cider vinegar

Preheat oven (175°C). In a large bowl, mix together flour, sugar, flax seeds, cocoa, baking soda, and salt with a fork, making sure they are well blended together. Then add the water, oil, and vinegar, and mix well till your batter is smooth and creamy.  Transfer the batter in a baking pan, using a spatula. Bake for about 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

10 thoughts on “Cocoa and Olive Oil Cake

  1. Mmm! This looks delicious. I love olive oil in cake, it just adds an unrivaled richness and moistness that can’t be beat. I like how you used apple cider vinegar in yours! 🙂

    • Thank you Lisa, I come from Tuscany and I must admit I have a fondness for olive oil..:) it makes them moist inside,with a crunchy tender crust and it goes well with fruity desserts as well. (PS I really love your spicy sweet potato wedges!)

      • Thanks, Lauzan! I’m so glad you like them! I’ll need to try your cake soon. I agree, olive oil is the best for moist insides but perfectly crunchy outsides. Thanks for bringing some of Tuscany to those who have never been and dream of going someday! 🙂

    • Thank you Dimple, veganism taught me -Amon other things – that healthier recipes can be yummy, even more delicious than non vegan ones. Let me know if you try this recipe. (Veganism turned me into a huge chocolate fan as well!)

Leave a Reply

