Chouquettes

image

Chouquettes are cute, they are the perfect treat while sipping a cup of hot comforting tea and also one of my goblins’ favourite sweet snack (ok heck, mine too, I cannot deny it!).
I learned how to make Pâte à Choux a long time ago and I’ve been looking for the perfect substitute vegan recipe for a very long time but nothing worked they were always too fluffy, greasy, gummy….

So I said to myself… why can’t I simply adapt my old pâte à choux recipe? And I did it, I mixed the batter and from the very start I knew that I was following the right path.

Do you like chouquettes and what do you think of my results…?

image

INGREDIENTS:

  • 250 ml water
  • 125 g flour
  • 60 g organic margarine
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 50 g sugar
  • 4 vegan eggs (I used 4 tsp of no egg and 6 tsp of rice milk)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 100 g sugar pearls
Preheat the oven (160°C). Put the water, sugar and margarine in a medium size pan. Bring to a boil over high heat. Remove from fire and quickly stir the flour, mix very well and very quick. Incorporate 4 no eggs & rice milk, the baking powder and mixi well until the batter is shiny.
Make little balls with your hands (as big as a walnut) place them on some parchment paper on a baking tray and sprinkle them with pearl sugar. Bake for 30 minutes.
And enjoy…!
7 thoughts on “Chouquettes

Leave a Reply

