Chia seed craze

Photo on 16-10-14 at 16.40 #2Honestly, I’m not a “superfood” fan, and I was a bit hesitant but I heard and read so many (interesting) things about this Aztec Treasure that I ordered some via Amazon and I receive my package just a few days after my left elbow started to ache.
Coincidence? 😉
To make the long story short, a couple of weeks ago I woke up with a sore elbow, it was like I hit it: it was swollen and red, and very hot. I was wondering why I didn’t realise I hurt myself while sleeping. How could it be possible?
My doctor told me I didn’t actually hurt myself, I had “Tennis elbow” a condition caused by overuse of arm, forearm, and hand muscles that results in elbow pain.
I don’t play tennis (anymore) but I’ve been using my left arm to carry my children for 5 years now: goblin 1, goblin 2 and then wee goblin 3.
And I guess it explains everything.
Somewhere I read that Chia seeds were good for joint pain and inflammation and I started taking them regularly (2 tbsp per day) and believe it or not the pain have reduced substantially and I feel much better. (Paracetamol and patches on the other hand didn’t help at all).

Photo on 16-10-14 at 16.40

What about Chia Seeds?
30 g of chia seeds contains:

Fiber: 11 grams. (Very high)
Protein: 4 grams. (Very high)
Fat: 9 grams (5 of which are Omega-3s).
Calcium: 18% of the RDA.
Manganese: 30% of the RDA.
Magnesium: 30% of the RDA.
Phosphorus: 27% of the RDA.
They also contain a decent amount of Zinc, Vitamin B3 (Niacin), Potassium, Vitamin B1 (Thiamine) and Vitamin B2.

They can absorb A LOT of water and make you feel full.

They have a nice taste and a funny texture. Crunchy and slimy At the same time. You can add it to your salad, smoothies, yogurt, soups… Personally I like them just as they are, they have a lovely nutty taste.

They are quite expensive…

They’re rich in Omega-3 fatty acids, and antioxidants which means that the seeds don’t deteriorate and can be stored for long periods without becoming rancid.

They can be used as an egg replacer (1 egg: grind 1 tbsp of chia seeds, add 3 tbsp of water, stir and wait 10/15 minutes).

Do you know chia seeds? How do you use them? What is your opinion about them?

18 thoughts on “Chia seed craze

  1. I think it’s great that you have had such a positive experience with these little seeds! I often add them to various dishes as extra protein but I can’t say that they’ve ever had any amazing effect on me xx

  2. I like chia seeds but mostly because I KNOW they have good stuff in them. I like the taste but I don’t think I have experienced any kind of nutritional benefit that I know of. I still continue to eat them though, mostly sprinkled on cereals or yoghurt. I’m not really a fan of chia puddings (the soaked, gel-like chia seeds. Too slimy for me!). I am so glad that you’ve experienced positive benefits from them though. I didn’t know about their anti-inflammatory benefits but I’m keen to recommend some of my friends with injuries to try them! xx

    • Let me know if some of your friends with injuries give you a positive feedback. Just to make sure it was not a coincidence…I didn’t even give a try to the chia pudding, it looks too slimy and reminds me of the little “eye-like” shells clamped on sea rocks …yuk! But I agree, they are really nice on salads, cereals and yoghurt, or just as they are.

Leave a Reply

