Vegan Christmas sablés

Photo on 25-11-14 at 13.111

The Veggy Side of Me – Sablé Cookies

My best childhood Christmas memories are filled with cookie cutters, rolling pins, flour and laughters. I used to bake tons of them, offer them as gift and I miss(ed) not being able to make a good pâte sablé.
Since I chose to be vegan, all the recipes I tried have always been a (huge) disappointment, I’ve never been able to find “the perfect dough”, the mixture that tastes like the sablé cookies my grandmother baked when I was a wee goblin, eons ago…
Today, for the very first time, I think I’ve finally found the dough I was looking for, the one no one will ever guess it’s vegan! 😉
And now I wonder… Am I going to share this recipe or am I going to keep it in a secret book….?

10628623_10154857539655527_8710953724284085307_n

The Veggy Side of Me – Sablé Cookies

What do you think!?
🙂
I think my blog would have no reason to be if I didn’t share it with you!

INGREDIENTS
300 g organic flour (you can use a mix of whole pastry and pastry flour) + some for the working surface
75 ml vegetable oil
150 g sugar
zest 1 lemon
1/2 tsp turmeric powder (optional, it’s just to colour your cookies)
pinch salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
water
Place the flour, oil, sugar, zest, turmeric, baking soda and salt into a bowl. Using your fingertips, rub the ingredients together until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs. Little by little, add enough water to form a consistent dough, just like a non vegan “pâte sablé”. Form a ball and wrap it in a plastic film and chill it in the fridge for 1 hour.
Preheat the oven to 170°C.
Sprinkle flour onto your work surface and then roll the dough to a thickness of 1cm. Use shaped pastry cutters to cut out your sablé cookies. Place 2 cm apart on a parchment covered baking sheet. Bake for 10 minutes (or until golden, I love them well done).

my sablés lauzan

The Veggy Side of Me – Sablé Cookies

15 thoughts on “Vegan Christmas sablés

  1. Pingback: Birthday Cake | The Veggy Side Of Me

  2. Pingback: Aquafaba Sablé Cookies | The Veggy Side Of Me

Leave a Reply

