Woo-hoo! 60 more days to spring! 5 ways to strengthen your immune system!

how-to-boost-your-immune-system

Feeling tired, sluggish and dreading the possibility of getting sick? Looking forward the sunny & warm days to come back?

Like me you have probably thought about ways to “bulletproof” your immune system so that you’ll stay healthy till spring arrives and have more energy despite these grey & frozen days.

This post is about my very simple tricks to keep the immune system safe during the cold months ahead. But do remember that it expresses solely my personal opinion and is by no means meant as medical recommendations as I’m neither a doctor nor a nutritionist!!

As you probably know, last year I did a 2 week juice fast and believe it or not, I realized it somehow really boosted my immune system. After the fast I felt so full of energy and surprisingly (considering all the viruses crawling in our home because of the goblins and the free bacillus and germs kindly offered by their kindergarten), I didn’t catch any cold or flu till last December.
This is why I’ve decided to repeat the experience, and see if it was more than a coincidence.

juice_fasting

Today I’m on day 5 and actually I do feel great: time flies compared to last year and it’s really much easier. I did have the common 2nd day headache, I do have a lot of energy, I do keep on exercising every day. One funny thing though, I’ve noticed that suddenly, around 8 pm, I start yawning and I look forward to going to sleep. 😉

So here are my 5 personal wintry tips to kick-start your immune system:

1.Drink A Lot
Water, teas, green teas and soups. Drinking helps to keep the body hydrated and the energy levels up to fight away laziness and sleepiness. My favorite natural drink at the moment (apart from Champagne and Brunello di Montalcino) is coconut water! It’s delicious and filled with many organic compounds which are extremely beneficial for our body! Furthermore, it facilitates digestion, it reduces blood pressure, it’s very rich in nutrients and it seems it helps in weight loss efforts! I usually drink a 200 ml cold can in the afternoon.

Two more of my favorite drinks at the moment:
– Cranberry Ginger Tea (you can find the recipe on Aloha.com)
– Lemon + Lime Juice and water (it aids digestion and boosts your immune system, I take it every morning)

large_cranberry-ginger-tea-hero

(By the way, Aloha.com is a new website I’ve recently discovered and there are plenty of tasty snack ideas, but more than that! Check it out!)

2. Workout
Don’t ditch your exercise routine just because it is cold outside. Try to remain active by exercising at least 2/3 times per week. It will help to keep winter blues at bay. Take advantage of the sunny weekends to stroll, jog or exercise outside in your own garden. Even a 10 minutes walk will boost your energy and make you feel good!
Personally I try to exercise every day, but I know that it’s not always possible. My favorite sport is running and when I have no time or I cannot run (because, let’s say, while climbing down the stairs, I stupidly damaged the articular cartilage in the knee joint…), I do some gym or I use my elliptic bike (there are plenty of videos on You Tube to choose from, so let’s go shake (y)our body!).

I often watch : Be Fit videos

KickStartImmune-System

3. Eat Antioxidant-Rich Foods
Berries, broccoli, garlic, tomatoes, nuts, green veggies, oranges, beans…Ideally, try to include a wide range of fruits and vegetables in your diet, as this will give you an equally wide range of antioxidants, which is important since each antioxidant has a slightly different impact on your immune health.

My favorite anti-oxidant juice:
Blueberries, strawberries, mango
antioxidant-supreme-recipe-400x400

4. Sleep and rest when tired
A sufficient amount of sleep per night is vital. Sleep helps restore the body, and if one is deprived of it, the immune system will not be able to function properly.

Last but not least…

5. Try 1 day juice fast!
It’s amazing what a 1 day break from solid can do especially after the indulgence of the holiday season. It’s not hard, just remember to drink as much juice as you feel you want: drink juice when you would normally eat a meal! You will feel better almost renewed, not just physically, but also mentally and emotionally inspired!

Joe-Mean-Green_1721_web21

Some vitamin bomb juice (I love) to super-charge your immune system:

– Grapefruit, oranges, kiwis
– Lemon, beet, carrots, apple
– Cucumber, celery, apple, lemon, kale

Winter-Wellness1-e1369800886613-620x322


If you want to know more about juice fasting, check www.rebootwithjoe.com, you will find juice recipes and healthy inspiration to get you started.

Looking forward to knowing your personal way/s to “bulletproof” your immune system during winter!!

4 thoughts on “Woo-hoo! 60 more days to spring! 5 ways to strengthen your immune system!

Leave a Reply

