Ms Margaret’s Vegan Scones

image

My best memories of scones come from Scotland. I’ve never ever tasted again scones as delicious as the ones baked by Ms Margaret.
Ms Margaret was my landlady, a wee unmarried girl with an age impossible to define. She was a music player, and played for the Scottish Symphony Orchestra.
When I was feeling blue, she popped in with a huge tray of freshly baked scones, and oh they tasted so good!
The day I left she gave me her precious recipe, but I’ve never been able to bake the same scones, even before I became vegan. I wonder why…maybe the taste of a recipe comes also from the surroundings, it is influenced by your mood and the environment where you taste it…what do you think? 🙂

I’m almost sure I would be able to bake the perfect scones in my beloved Scotland.

I have adapted Ms Margaret original recipe with my own touches and the result is pretty good!
They are easy to bake, soft and fluffy: perfect with some jam and margarine (or coconut butter)!

image

INGREDIENTS:
300g 1/2 whole organic flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
85g organic margarine
175ml almond milk (or other vegetable milk) + more to glaze
zest 1 lemon
3 tsp lemon juice
3 tbsp cane sugar
vanilla extract
pinch salt

Heat oven to 175°C.
Pour the flour into a large bowl with the salt and baking powder, then mix. Add the margarine, then rub in with your fingers until the mix looks like fine crumbs. Stir in the cane sugar and lemon zest.

Put the almond milk into a jug and add the vanilla and lemon juice, then set aside for a moment.

Make a well in the dry mix, then add the liquid and combine, working the mixture as little as possible, until it forms into a soft, slightly sticky ball.

Turn dough out onto a floured surface. Roll dough out (2 1/2 cm).

Cut the dough into rounds using a cutter or a glass. Put the rounds on an ungreased baking sheet. Gently reshape the leftover dough and cut again. Brush the top of each scone with a bit of milk.

Bake for 10 mins or until risen and golden on the top. Eat just warm or cold on the day of baking, generously topped with jam (I used my strawberry coulis)!

image

6 thoughts on “Ms Margaret’s Vegan Scones

    • Thanks Elaine. Unfortunately I “lost her”…I think she moved, or maybe died. We kept in touch for a few years and then she disappeared. I tried to have news via the University of Glasgow but they had thrown away all the host family files… I was so sad… I still have an old Scottish mug she offered me (it was her mug, so it’s very precious to me) and the recipe book….she’ll never be forgotten. (I’m doing your bread! The starter is alive!!)

  1. That is so cool that you had a fab landlady! 🙂 The scones you adapted looked perfect so that I why i made them already 2 times! Each time, they came out perfect! xxxx

Leave a Reply

