Langues de Chat – Cat’s Tongue Cookies

image

I think the magic of aquafaba (chickpea brine) can almost be compared to the magic of cashew nuts. It’s unbelievable what you can do… Langues de chats were some of my favorite cookies before choosing to be vegan and I’ve never been able to recreate their texture…up till today!
…I simply used aquafaba instead of eggs and margarine instead of butter! No apple cider vinegar, no flax seeds…just the “original” ingredients.
These small cookies date from the 17th century and are perfect with a sorbet/ice cream or a hot cup of tea! Sweet, crunchy & delicious. Trust me they will disappear quickly, but luckily it is a very simple recipe you can do again and again!
PS: you do know the cookies you have just baked are good when you ask your son to bring some to his siblings and he shakes his head, grabbing some more from the cookie jar.
Try them!!

image

INGREDIENTS:
120 g organic flour
120 g powdered sugar
120 g margarine
65 ml homemade aquafaba (weight of 2 small eggs)
1 tsp vanilla seeds

Preheat the oven to 180°C.
In a medium bowl, cream together margarine and sugar until smooth. Beat in aquafaba/brine until batter looks almost like a “egg drop soup”. Stir in the vanilla. Mix in the flour just until well blended. Dough will be white and creamy.
Using a pastry bag with a medium star tip, press dough onto prepared baking sheet into 4 cm length.
Bake cookies in preheated oven until straw-colored, about 10 minutes. Cool on wire rack.
Enjoy!!

image

PS: I’m bringing my cookies to Fiesta Friday #76! Come and join us!

19 thoughts on “Langues de Chat – Cat’s Tongue Cookies

  1. I love “línguas de gato” – curiously my son told me yesterday how he missed them – I’m going to buy them today at the supermarket – common industrial ones, I had no idea about their so ancient history – yours look delicious!

    • Thank you!! I hope your son will be happy with the linguas de gato, my children love them too. In Italy we call them lingue di gatto as well. International cookies!

  2. Pingback: Godt igang med aquafaba (30+ opskrifter med kikærtevand) | PlantePusherne

Leave a Reply

